Secondary School Sports

The College aims to provide numerous sporting opportunities, through the following events and programs:

  • School Carnivals (Swimming, Athletics, Cross Country and Ball Games)
  • Interschool Sport
  • Intra-school Sport
  • Social Sport
  • House Activities
  • Regional and State Carnivals

Interschool Sports

Toowoomba Christian College participates in the local interschool sporting opportunities for primary and secondary students among the participating schools in Toowoomba.

Secondary students play interschool sport during Term 1 and Term 2 on Wednesday afternoons. Boys' sports include AFL, basketball, mixed netball, soccer, touch football and volleyball. Girls' sports include basketball, mixed netball, netball, soccer, touch football and volleyball. Secondary students wear their sports uniform on Wednesdays for the whole year.

Other Competitions

The school sends a number of teams to compete in wider competitions such as South West Queensland Futsal Titles, Laura Geitz Netball Competition, Vicki Wilson Cup Netball, Swans All Schools Touch Competition and Queensland Schools Cup Volleyball.

School Carnivals

Both the Primary and Secondary school hold Swimming, Cross Country, Athletic and Ball Games carnivals each year.


In 2013, the College introduced four new sporting houses to replace the previous two (Cunningham and Oxley). The four houses were named after Christians who have shown great commitment to God as they have pursued a certain area of service to God and their fellow man, in keeping with the College’s motto “Pro Ductibus Pro Patriae” which means “for leadership and for country”.

In Mark Chapter 12, we read an account of Jesus being asked to identify which of the commandments is the most important. Jesus’s reply: “The most important is, ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbour as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”

The four houses have been named after Christians who actively lived out loving their neighbours as themselves and who each exemplified loving the Lord with all of their heart, soul, mind and strength.